Gallery: this year’s 220 Awards

Photos from last weekend's 220 Awards evening are now up!


Annual shindig the 220 Awards were held last weekend at Sandown Park in Surrey, with Ironman legend Dave Scott on hand to give out trophies to this year’s winners.


Snooker player and guest speaker Dennis Taylor kicked things off with some tales from the baize and a memorable joke involving a radiator:

Dennis Taylor at the 220 Awards

Dave Scott took to the podium to ask what “snucker” is exactly:

Dave Scott at the 220 Awards

Catherine Faux was named Women’s Age-Group Triathlete of the year:

Catherine Faux at the 220 Awards

220 Triathlon Editor Helen Webster hands TFN the award for Triathlon Retailer of the Year:

TFN at the 220 Awards

Garmin Vector power meter pedals were named Most Innovative Product of the Year:

Garmin Vector wins a 220 award

Phil Hogg was named Men’s Paratriathlete of the Year:

Phil Hogg at the 220 awards

Georgia Taylor-Brown won Youth Triathlete of the Year:

Georgia Taylor-Brown wins a 220 award

Wiggle won Online Retailer of the Year:

Wiggle wins a 22 award

Javier Gomez unsurprisingly won International Triathlete of the Year:

Javier Gomez wins a 220 award

Huub won Triathlon Wetsuit Brand of the Year:

Huub wins a 220 award

Simon Ward won Coach of the Year:

Simon Ward wins a 220 award

Boardman Bikes won Bike Brand of the Year:

Boardman wins a 220 award

The Outlaw won Race of the Year (>500 entries):

The Outlaw wins a 220 award

Alan Kirkham won the Jane Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Contribution to Triathlon:

Alan Kirkham wins a 220 award

Finally, our thanks to the evening’s sponsors Elivar, which provides sports nutrition specially tailored to endurance athletes over 35 years:

Elivar at 220 awards

This is just a selection of the night’s winners – full results of this year’s awards can be found here


(Images: Nick Smith Photography)