Crisp winter’s morning for second Wellingborough Dirt Run

Sarah Vigrow wins sprint finish in women's 5km race


(Image: Adrian Howes Photography)


Andrew Siggers retained his 15km crown at the second instalment of the Wellingborough Dirt Run series last weekend, while Sarah Vigrow won a tightly contested sprint finish in the women’s 5km race.

With better conditions than last time round, Thomas Phelps dominated the men’s event to finish in a time of 17:45mins, nearly two minutes ahead of second-placed Rich Connor.

In the women’s 5km race, Sarah Vigrow just beat Anya Galleta into second place, crossing the line in 23:14mins. Galleta followed just four seconds later.

In the men’s 10km race, Mark Popple was the clear men’s winner, finishing nearly three minutes ahead of second-placed Jon Dundee in a time of 38:35mins. In the women’s race Jenny Smith took the title in 43:29mins.

Andrew Siggers again won the 15km men’s race, crossing the line in 51:03mins (compared to 51mins in the first instalment). Ali Moult took the women’s title in a speedy 1:01:53.

The third and final instalment of the Wellingborough Dirt Run series will take place at the Jurassic Irchester Country Park in Northamptonshire on 16 February.


Full results can be found here.