British Triathlon 2013 paratriathlon squads confirmed

Four world champions feature in the 2013 squad

British Triathlon has confirmed its 2013 UK Sport Lottery-funded world-class paratriathlon squad. As the sport looks forward to its Paralympic debut in Rio 2016, four current ITU Paratriathlon World Champions feature in the squad.

Advertisement MPU article

Faye McClelland, Iain Dawson, Steven Judge and Matthew Emmerson were all crowned world champions in their various paratriathlon categories in Auckland in October. They form part of the new squad, which is focussed on achieving success at the PruHealth World Triathlon Grand Final London in September this year and Rio 2016 in the longer term.

Former world champion, Jane Egan is also part of the squad and Royal Marine Commando, Joe Townsend will aim to continue his excellent progress in the sport. Townsend dramatically featured in the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Paralympic Games when he carried the Paralympic Flame into the London 2012 stadium via suspended overhead wires.

Lauren Steadman has been selected to the paratriathlon squad having competed at the London 2012 Paralympic Games as part of the Team GB swimming team.

British Triathlon’s paratriathlon performance manager, Jonathon Riall, commented: “The UK Sport Lottery funded World-Class Programme features athletes who have proved themselves in a performance environment.

“They have already demonstrated their ability to perform at the highest level, and have unwavering commitment to achieve their aspirations in the sport. Having four current world champions demonstrates the strength that this squad has, and the results from some of our up and coming athletes demonstrates that they have the potential to be world and Paralympic champions in the future.

“It’s a really exciting time for our paratriathletes with the opportunity to race in a home world championships later this year, and to be part of the overall success of the Paralympics GB team in Rio.”

In addition to the UK Sport funded squad, the Triathlon England paratriathlon talent squad has also been confirmed. This squad benefits from Sport England funding and these talented athletes will have the opportunity to train with able bodied triathletes as well as access specific paratriathlon resources.

UK Sport Lottery-funded paratriathlon squad

For a description of the paratriathlon categories see


Jane Egan, 42, Glasgow

Jimmy Goddard, 35, Bracknell

Joe Townsend, 24, Eastbourne


Steven Judge, 39, Eckington, Sheffield


Joe Allen, 25, Dorset

Faye McClelland, 33, Eastbourne

Clare Cunningham, 35, Cambridge

Lauren Steadman, 20, Peterborough


Matthew Emmerson, 26, Sandwich, Kent

George Peasgood, 17, Cambridge


Ian Dawson, 36, Norwich

Charlotte Ellis, 28, Redcar, Yorkshire

Melissa Reid, 22, Plymouth

Triathlon England paratriathlon talent squad (funded by Sport England)


Phil Hogg, 43, Derby

Tri 4

David Hill, 23, Somerset

Tri 6

David Ellis, 26, Derby

Advertisement MPU article

David Knott, 15, Southampton