When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Home / News / 220 Triathlon Awards 2013 finalists

220 Triathlon Awards 2013 finalists

We reveal who made your top three for the 220 Awards 2013

After an historic year for British tri, you took to the polls and voted for your favourite triathletes, races and gear of 2012.

Here are your top three finalists in each category for the 220 Triathlon Awards 2013 (in alphabetical order). The winners will be announced on Saturday 2 March at the 220 Awards evening, Sandown Park, Surrey.

Men’s Elite Triathlete of the Year

Alistair Brownlee, Jonny Brownlee, Javier Gomez

Women’s Elite Triathlete of the Year (four nominees as two are tied for third place)

Leanda Cave, Lucy Hall, Helen Jenkins, Non Stanford

Men’s Duathlete of the Year

Mark Buckingham, Richard Horton, Philip Wylie

Women’s Duathlete of the Year

Lucy Gossage, Katie Hewison, Helen Russell

Men’s Age-Group Triathlete of the Year

Nick Baldwin, Sam Baxter, Mike Trees

Women’s Age-Group Triathlete of the Year

Catherine Faux, Claire Shea-Simmonds, Caroline Whittaker

Men’s Paratriathlete of the Year

Iain Dawson, Steve Judge, Joe Townsend

Women’s Paratriathlete of the Year

Jane Egan, Faye McClelland, Melissa Reid

Youth Triathlete of the Year

Macauley Carline, Sky Draper, Georgia Taylor-Brown

International Triathlete of the Year

Javier Gomez, Pete Jacobs, Richard Murray

Triathlon Coach of the Year

James Beckinsale, Jack Maitland, Mike Trees

Triathlon Club of the Year

B2P Sports, Leeds and Bradford TC, One Triathlon RDS

Race of the Year (Less Than 500 Entrants)

Ashbourne Duathlon, Mumbles Triathlon, Tri Together London

Race of the Year (More Than 500 Entrants)

Derby Triathlon, Outlaw, Vitruvian

Wetsuit Brand of the Year

2XU, Huub, Orca

Bike Brand of the Year (four nominees as two are tied for third place)

Boardman, Cervélo, Felt, Specialized

Run Shoe Brand of the Year

Asics, Brooks, Newton

Innovative Product of the Year

Garmin 910XT, Huub Archimedes wetsuit, Newton MV2 shoe

Triathlon Retailer of the Year

Sigma Sport, The Triathlon Shop, Total Fitness Nottingham

Online Retailer of the Year

Chain Reaction, TFN, Wiggle

Triathlon Website of the Year

220 Triathlon, Beyond Going Long, Tri 24/7

Jane Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Contribution to Triathlon*

Alistair Brownlee, Hilary Johnson, John Levison, John Lunt, Chrissie Wellington

* The winner of the Jane Tomlinson Award is to be chosen by a panel of industry experts.

Profile image of Matt Baird Matt Baird Editor of Cycling Plus magazine


Matt is a regular contributor to 220 Triathlon, having joined the magazine in 2008. He’s raced everything from super-sprint to Ironman, duathlons and off-road triathlons, and can regularly be seen on the roads and trails around Bristol. Matt is the author of Triathlon! from Aurum Press and is now the editor of Cycling Plus magazine.