Wellington makes it four wins in Hawaii, Alexander completes his hat trick.

Chrissie Wellington wins her fourth Ironman World Championship, and Craig Alexander wins his third, breaking the course record in the process.

Craig Alexander won his third Ironman World Championship in Kona, Hawaii this weekend, with Chrissie Wellington winning her fourth with a come-from-behind victory.
Wellington recorded the second fastest time ever at Kona with 8:55:08, just behind the course record which she set in 2009 – and the win was more remarkable considering the bike crash she had a few weeks ago which left her covered in road rash, hampering her preparation. But the victory was a close one, with second-place Mirinda Carfrae breaking her own run course record in 2:53:32 and closing on Wellington all the way to the line. Leanda Cave completed the podium places.
Wellington had a poor swim by her standards, and had to make up time all the way on the bike, eventually starting the run 25mins behind leader Julie Dibens. But Dibens’ foot injury saw her abandon on the run, leaving Caroline Steffen in front with Wellington and Carfrae quickly gaining.
It was just after the turn at the Energy Lab that Wellington finally gained the lead, and despite the fact that Carfrae was catching her, she held on to win by 2:49.
“I was emotionally and physically spent,” said Wellington at the finish. “It was an emotionally draining performance. It’s the one that I am the most proud of…I left everything out there.”
Aussie Craig Alexander broke Luc Van Lierde’s 15-year-old course record on the way to his win in 8:03:56, and finished almost 6mins ahead of the impressive Pete Jacobs.
The race stayed together until halfway through the bike course, when Chris Lieto powered away to build up a 5min lead by T2 over the other main contenders. Alexander had a personal victory on the bike, beating his previous best time at Kona by over 13mins and meant that he didn’t have as much time to make up on the run as he’s had to in previous years.
But Lieto fell apart on the run; eventually finishing in 29th place, and it wasn’t long before Alexander took the lead. However, there was a bit of drama as he stopped with only a mile to go on the run, suffering from severe cramp, before getting himself going again and taking the win. Pete Jacobs came in second after a fantastic run of 2:42:29, with Andreas Raelert in third.
1         Craig Alexander, AUS   8:03:56
2         Pete Jacobs, AUS   8:09:11
3         Andreas Raelert, GER   8:11:07
4         Dirk Bockel, LUX   8:12:58
5         Timo Bracht, GER   8:20:12
1         Chrissie Wellington, GBR    8:55:08
2         Mirinda Carfrae, AUS   8:57:57
3         Leanda Cave, GBR   9:03:29
4         Rachel Joyce, GBR   9:06:57
5         Caroline Steffen, SWI   9:07:32