PTO partners with BT Sport for Collins Cup coverage

The PTO has just announced a partnership with BT Sport for coverage of the inaugural Collins Cup in the UK. Here's what you need to know...

Screenshot 2021-02-03 at 15.28.24

The Professional Triathletes Organisation (PTO) has announced an agreement with BT Sport to broadcast highlights of its inaugural Collins Cup later this summer.


An hour-long highlights show will be available across BT Sport’s channels 24 hours after the race, which takes place on 28 August.

BT Sport will also air the PTO’s Beyond Human two-part series, which offers a unfiltered, behind-the-scenes glimpse into the lives of serial winners and Collins Cup hopefuls Lionel Sanders (CAN), Sebastien Kienle (GER) and Heather Jackson (USA).

The first episode will be aired from 7 July and the second episode will be broadcast from 23 August, just days before the Collins Cup begins. If you don’t want to wait that long, the first episode of Beyond Human is available to watch now.

Live coverage of the Collins Cup will be available for people in the UK and much of Europe via Eurosport, while further broadcast information is expected to be announced in due course. For more detailed broadcast information about the Collins Cup, including coverage in other countries and regions, keep an eye on the official website.

What is the Collins Cup?

The Collin’s Cup is a new triathlon event organised by the Professional Triathletes Organisation (PTO) that’s loosely based on golf’s Ryder Cup. The competition will pit three teams (Team Europe, Team USA and Team International) of 12 triathletes against each other in the race for glory and (a remarkable) prize purse of $1.15m.

Each team will put forward one athlete to race against one person from each of the other two teams in a three-person ‘matchplay’ battle over a middle-distance non-drafting format (1.9km swim, 90km bike, 21.1km run).


This will be the case for each team member, who’ll need to battle their own three-person individual contest. The 12 races will be staggered 10 minutes apart with the points from each individual race deciding who will be crowned overall winners.