Olympians dominate this year’s Escape from Alcatraz

First-timer Sarah Haskins wins women’s race, finishing 20secs ahead of Mirinda Carfrae, while Andy Potts wins men’s race for sixth time

Andy Potts racing Escape from Alcatraz 2014

This year’s Escape from Alcatraz was won by two US Olympians, with Andy Potts winning the men’s race for the sixth time and first-timer Sarah Haskins beating a strong women’s field that included reigning Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae (AUS).

Advertisement MPU article

Among a packed field of more than 2,000 amateur and pro athletes, Potts managed to exit the swim first after swimming 1.4km from the infamous Alcatraz prison in San Francisco bay to shore, before embarking on a 29km bike and a 12.8km run through the streets of San Francisco.

Potts said post-race: “I felt the pressure with such a great field of pros behind me, including Olympic Silver Medalist Bevan Docherty, and did not celebrate until I was in the finish shoot. Escape from Alcatraz is my favourite race in the world, and to return after being out due to an injury last year, and win it for the sixth time, is the best feeling ever.”

Potts finished 22nd at the 2004 Athens Olympic Games, and has since won the 2007 Ironman 70.3 World Championship, while Haskins came 11th in the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Top men:

1st – Andy Potts (USA), 2:04:21
2nd – Bevan Docherty (NZL), 2:04:59
3rd – Josh Amberger (AUS), 2:08:37

Top women:

1st – Sarah Haskins (USA), 2:17:42
2nd – Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), 2:18:05
3rd – Ricarda Lisk (GER), 2:18:52

Advertisement MPU article

For full race results head to www.escapefromalcatraztriathlon.com.