When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Home / News / Non Stanford named Olympic Athlete of the Year

Non Stanford named Olympic Athlete of the Year

Welsh triathlete among 35 winners

Non Stanford

2013 ITU World Champion Non Stanford had better clear some more space on her mantelpiece, as she just been named Olympic Athlete of the Year by the British Olympic Association (BOA).

This marks just the latest in a series of awards the Welsh triathlete has picked up after her superb season, with other accolades including British Triathlon’s Elite Triathlete of the Year.

In all there are 35 winners of this year’s BOA award across 31 Olympic sports. Cyclist Liam Philips, swimmer Fran Halsall and track star Mo Farah are among the other winners.

“I am delighted to see so many athletes of varying experience, across the full spectrum of Olympic sport, building on the momentum of Team GB’s performance at London 2012 by setting new standards of sporting excellence in 2013,” said Bill Sweeney, head of the British Olympic Association.

Profile image of Jamie Beach Jamie Beach Former digital editor


Jamie was 220 Triathlon's digital editor between 2013 and 2015.