When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Home / News / Chrissie takes third Kona title

Chrissie takes third Kona title

Welly blasts the opposition to win the 2009 IM World Champs

Chrissie Wellington has claimed her third consecutive world title in a world record beating time of 8:54:02. Crossing the line, she did her customary Blazeman roll before bursting into tears and falling into the arms of her parents. Second-placed woman was Mirinda Carfrae in her first-ever full Ironman, in a time of 9:13:59, followed by Virginia Berasategui in 9:15:28.

Talking after the race, Wellington said: “This truly was the toughest day in sport. I am so honoured and proud to now hold the course record. I was determined to race with all the fire and passion inside me and I am delighted to be able to take home the title once again.”

Craig Alexander made it two in a row for the men, beating Chris Lieto to the line after overtaking him on the run in a repeat of last year’s title takeover on the final discipline.

Other Brits of note were 20-year-old Philip Graves, winner of Ironman UK, finishing in 54th position overall with a time of 9:16:02, and Rachel Joyce who finished seventh female overall.

Full race report to come in the next issue of 220.

Profile image of Matt Baird Matt Baird Editor of Cycling Plus magazine


Matt is a regular contributor to 220 Triathlon, having joined the magazine in 2008. He’s raced everything from super-sprint to Ironman, duathlons and off-road triathlons, and can regularly be seen on the roads and trails around Bristol. Matt is the author of Triathlon! from Aurum Press and is now the editor of Cycling Plus magazine.