GB Paratri squad wins three Euro golds

Twelve medals in total for Britain’s paratri squad in Kitzbuhel


The Great Britain Paratriathlon Team won three gold medals at the ETU European Championships in Kitzbuhel. They took twelve medals in total at the most competitive ever European Championship event.

Advertisement MPU article

Lauren Steadman again overcame the four-time ITU world champion, Faye McClelland, to win the PT4 European title for a second year in a row. The 21 year-old won the ITU World Triathlon Series event in London at the end of last month, becoming the first person to ever beat McClelland.

Demonstrating the samedetermination today, Steadman lead out of the swim and held on through the bike and run to take victory.

She commented: “I took at lot of confidence after winning in London, but I’m very aware how fierce and determined Faye is.”

She added: “I didn’t think I would retain my title, I really didn’t but it’s been nice and there was some great support on the run when it was just a case of holding on.”

Chris Goodwin and Karen Darke were Britain’s other gold medal winners. Goodwin won the PT5 category (visually impaired) guided by Jack Peasgood to finish ahead of Dave Ellis.

Darke beat ITU world champion and teammate Jane Egan to win the PT1 gold. Her speed on the bike was too much for Egan to handle despite having to overcome a huge deficit after the swim.

British Paratriathlon Performance Manager, Jonathon Riall, said: “It was good to get twelve medals but the competition to get those top spots is getting tougher.”

Paratraithlon will make its Paralympic debut in Rio in 2016. The Paratriathlon will take place on Copacabana Beach.

Great Britain medals

PT1 – women

1. Karen Darke, GBR, 1:22.07

2. Jane Egan, GBR, 1:25.26

PT1 – men

2. Phil Hogg, GBR, 1:05.59

3. Joe Townsend, GBR, 1:06.33

PT3 – women (provisional result)

2. Sarah Pearson, GBR, TBC

PT3 – men (provisional result)

3. Russell White, GBR, TBC

PT4 – women

1.    Lauren Steadman, GBR, 1:09.49

2.    Faye McClelland, GBR, 1:11.09

PT5 – women

2. Melissa Reid, GBR, 1:12:28

3. Alison Patrick, GBR, 1:14.30

PT5 – men

1.    Chris Goodwin, GBR, 1:01.32

2.    Dave Ellis, GBR, 1:03.15

Advertisement MPU article

Image: Janos Schmidt/ITU