Thousands race at Hever

3,500 triathletes race in Kent at fourth Markel Hever Castle Triathlon


Last weekend’s fourth Markel Hever Castle Triathlon saw 3,500 triathletes from all across the country taking part, including 800 children, first timers and Team GB elites.


Heads turned as Tim Don, two-time Olympian, raced through the High Weald of Kent and down the finishing line to win his race.

With over 70 family groups competing, an inter-schools tournament, women’s only wave, charity challenge relay races and elites battling it out for the series winning trophies there was a race for everyone.

The Olympic distance, the longest of the six races, was won by BTF elite athlete David Bishop for the second year running. Carl Shaw came in second followed by Rhys Davey by just four seconds making him the 2012 Castle Triathlon Series champion.

Davey regularly trains with the Brownlee brothers, including time this summer as a training partner at the St Moritz Olympic training camp. Catherine Jameson from GI Tri Bridgtown was the female 2012 series winner after storming performances at three Castle Howard, Chateau de Chantilly and Hever.

“The Markel Castle Triathlon Series is now the biggest series in the country and it just keeps getting better. It stands out from other races because of its festival feel, at other events you turn up, race and leave, here you want to stay and soak it in. I’m signing up for next year!” said David Bishop.

The Markel Charity Challenge mid-distance relay race was won by Tim Don and Matt Smith who completed the mid-distance relay in 01:41:21, a forty second lead in front of second team. Markel insurance has now donated a total of £15,000 to charity across the series with £10,000 going to Macmillan Cancer Support from the Race Time Events wins and Tim Don’s team choosing to share their winnings with The Willow Foundation and The Willow Hospice.

Registrations are already flooding in for the 2013 series that will include The Gauntlet, a new half iron distance.


Full results including series winners can be found here. For more information and 2013 registration visit or call 01892 870 681.