Spencer Smith and Simon Lessing nominated for ITU’s Hall of Fame

British athletes among 25 people shortlisted for first annual induction in Edmonton this September, along with other big names like Mark Allen and Emma Snowsill

Spencer Smith post-race

The ITU has just revealed the nominations for its first-ever ITU Hall of Fame, with British athletes Spencer Smith and Simon Lessing among those shortlisted.


A total of 25 people have been named, including 11 elite women such as Erin Baker (NZL) and Emma Snowsill (AUS), and 11 elite men including Mark Allen (USA) and Chris McCormack (AUS).

There are also three nominations for the Lifetime Achiever award. Up to nine of those nominated will be inducted at the 2014 WTS Grand Final in Edmonton, Canada this September:

Elite Women

Elite Men

Lifetime Achiever

Erin Baker, NZL

Mark Allen, USA

Gunnar Ericsson, SWE

Emma Carney, AUS

Rob Barel, NED

Chiharu Igaya, JPN

Vanessa Fernandez, POR

Brad Beven, AUS

Les McDonald, CAN

Jackie Gallagher, AUS

Hamish Carter, NZL

Loretta Harrop, AUS

Simon Lessing, GBR

Siri Lindley, USA

Chris McCormack, AUS

Barb Lindquist, USA

Peter Robertson, AUS

Michellie Jones, AUS

Spencer Smith, GBR

Carol Montgomery, CAN

Miles Stewart, AUS

Karen Smyers, USA

Greg Welch, AUS

Emma Snowsill, AUS

Simon Whitfield, CAN

Over the past few months we’ve spoken to some of those nominated for our own Legends Of Tri series as part of 220 Triathlon’s own 25th anniversary celebrations, including Spencer Smith, Mark Allen and most recently Simon Lessing.

(Image: Nigel Farrow)


Who do you think should be inducted into the ITU’s Hall of Fame this year? Let us know in the comments below!