GB age-group team wins 12 golds in Gijon

2012 Brit age-group success continues in Gijon

The GE Great Britain Age Group Team delivered an outstanding 32 medals, including 12 gold, across the sprint and standard distance races at the 2011 Gijon ITU Duathlon World Championships on Sunday 25 September.
In the sprint distance event, the GE Great Britain Age Group Team delivered five gold, one silver and four bronze.
Helen Russell (30-34) won her age group and achieved a top three overall position in the sprint, finishing in a time of 01.08.43. Every female member of the GE Great Britain Age Group Team in the sprint distance race delivered a medal with three gold, one silver and one bronze.
In the standard distance race, the GE Great Britain Age Group Team delivered seven gold, seven silver and eight bronze. Danielle Stewart, Christine Howard and Hilary Ross all successfully defended their World titles won last year in Edinburgh.
In addition, Danielle Stewart, Hilary Ross and Elspeth Knott each completed the golden double, adding the ITU Duathlon World Champion title to the ETU Duathlon European Champion title won earlier in the season in Limerick.
In addition, following the age group races on the Sunday, an elite GE Great Britain Team consisting of Katie Hewison, Mark Buckingham, Matt Gunby and Georgina Schwiening won silver in the team relay event.
Haseeb Ahmed also won bronze in the event for paraduathletes to cap a successful year following a silver medal performance in Beijing at the ITU Paratriathlon World Championships.
(all results and medal tallies are provisional)?
GOLD (5)
F35-39 Helen Russell 
F40-44 Rachel Lightfoot
F60-64 Alexis Dinsmor
M60-64 Dave Littlemore
M65-69 Paul Snelling
F40-44 Karen Bell (S)
M20-24 Andrew Rooke
M35-39 Nick Shasha
M40-44 Steve McKeown
F50-54 Mary Twitchett
GOLD (7)
M18-19 Ross Fawcett
F25-29 Danielle Stewart
F30-34 Gillian Palmer
F40-44 Christine Howard
M45-49 Stuart Hall
F55-59 Hilary Ross
F60-64 Elspeth Knott
M18-19 Ross Landon
F25-29 Lucy Commander
F30-34 Louise Bardsley
F35-39 Esther Evans
F40-44 Mel Varvel
M55-59 Peter Wheddon
F60-64 Jan Farmer
F25-29 Becky Glover
F35-39 Juliette Minter
M35-39 Richard Wilder
M45-49 Paul Rogers
M50-54 Robert McLean
F55-59 Penny Edwards
F65-69 Barbara Law
M75-79 Arnott Kidd