Chrissie absent from BBC Sports Personality list

Angry reaction as women and triathletes both missing from list for 2011 Award

The BBC has announced the 10 nominees for the 2011 Sports Personality of the Year Award.
Chrissie Wellington and Alistair Brownlee were both absent from the list, chosen by a range of newspapers and magazines across the UK.
The list, which can be viewed here, has immediately been criticised for its lack of female participants, with Chrissie, Keri-Anne Payne, Rebecca Adlington and the ITU World Champion, Helen Jenkins, all absent.
Chrissie has tweeted, "No women in @bbcspoty top ten. Its not about me, its about the need to celebrate achievements of so many female GBR athletes. Disgraceful."
Here is the shortlist, their sport and the number of votes they received…

Mark Cavendish, Cycling                   23 votes
Darren Clarke, Golf                            26 votes
Alastair Cook, Cricket                        18 votes

Advertisement MPU article
Luke Donald, Golf                              11 votes
Mo Farah, Athletics                             27 votes
Dai Greene, Athletics                          17 votes
Amir Khan, Boxing                               7 votes
Rory McIlroy, Golf                                27 votes
Andy Murray, Tennis                            14 votes
Andrew Strauss, Cricket                      16 votes
And those who missed the cut…
Rebecca Adlington, Swimming          6 votes
Keri-Anne Payne, Swimming            5 votes
Chrissie Wellington, Triathlon            3 votes
Alistair Brownlee, Triathlon                 4 votes

Who voted and how can be viewed here