220 Triathlon Awards 2010: The winners

We're live from the glitz and glamour of the 220 Triathlon Awards 2010, in association with Taut Sports Drink, at Sandown Park. Click through to see who you voted for as your champions of 2010...


The moment has finally arrived to announce the winners of the 220 Triathlon Awards 2010, in association with Taut Sports Drink, as voted for by our readership. While the cream of tri clutch their gongs on the Sandown Park dance floor, here we can reveal the dead certs and dark horses who triumphed in the 2009 race season… 


Men’s Elite Triathlete of the Year

1) Alistair Brownlee

2) Phil Graves

3) Will Clarke

Last year’s winner – Alistair Brownlee

Women’s Elite Triathlete of the Year

1) Chrissie Wellington

2) Helen Jenkins

3) Jodie Stimpson

Last year’s winner – Chrissie Wellington

Men’s Duathlete of the Year

1) Lee Piercy

2) Alistair Brownlee

3) Adam Bowden

Last year’s winner – Paul Amey

Women’s Duathlete of the Year

1) Catriona Morrison

2) Vicky Graves

3) Sophie Coleman

Last year’s winner – Catriona Morrison

Men’s Age-Group Triathlete of the Year

1) Nick Dunn

2) Hywel Davies

3) Mark Stenning

Last year’s winner – Hywel Davies

Women’s Age-Group Triathlete of the Year

1) Tamsin Lewis

2) Jo Carritt

3) Lucy Gossage

Last year’s winner – Sophie Whitworth

Youth Triathlete of the Year

1) Hollie Avil

2) Jonathan Brownlee

3) Sky Draper

Last year’s winner – Hollie Avil

Coach of the Year

1) Michelle Dillon

2) Dan Bullock

3) Joe Beer

Last year’s winner – Simon Ward

Club of the Year

1) Hillingdon Triathletes

2) Leeds & Bradford Tri Club

3) Manchester Triathlon Club

Last year’s winner – VO2 Maximum

Race of the Year (entry less than 500)

1) Sevenoaks Sprint Triathlon (Autumn)

2) Ilkley Triathlon

3) Llandudno Sea Triathlon Standard

Last year’s winner – Ilkley Triathlon

Race of the Year (entry greater than 500)

1) Vitruvian

2) Bala Middle

3) National Relay Championships

Last year’s winner – Vitruvian

Triathlon Wetsuit of the Year

1) Blueseventy Helix

2) 2XU V1

3) Orca Alpha

Last year’s winner – Blueseventy Helix

Bike of the Year

1) Planet X Stealth

2) Cervélo P4

3) Cervélo P3C

Last year’s winner – Cervélo P3C

Run Shoe of the Year

1) Newton Gravity

2) Asics Noosa

3) Saucony Fastwitch 3

Last year’s winner – Saucony Fastwitch 2

Innovative Product of the Year

1) Garmin Forerunner 310XT

2) Newton Sir Issacs

3) Wattbike

Last year’s winner – Newton run shoes

Triathlon Retailer of the Year

1) TFN Nottingham

2) Sigma Sport

3) Royles

Last year’s winner – Total Fitness Nottingham

Mail-Order Company of the Year

1) wiggle.co.uk

2) chainreactioncycles.com

3) tfn.uk.com

Last year’s winner – Wiggle

Triathlon Website of the Year

1) tri247.com

2) 220triathlon.com

3) tritalk.co.uk

Last year’s winner – tri247.com

The Jane Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Contribution to Triathlon

1) Chrissie Wellington

2) Alistair Brownlee

3) Sarah Springman

Last year’s winner – Chrissie Wellington

220 Awards thanks Taut

Once again, the 220 Triathlon Awards were brought to you in association with Taut sports drinks. Boasting all-natural ingredients, Taut products are designed to deliver the ideal balance of energy and re-hydration without any of that nasty artificial stuff. Taut is also the official sports and energy drink of the World U23 Triathlon Champion, Hollie Avil, and the British Triathlon Federation, and is endorsed by Sir Matthew Pinsent, the quadruple Olympic gold medallist rower.


Taut comes in a range of three delicious still flavours (Cranberry and Blackberry, Orange and Mandarin, and Salted Lemon). To view Taut’s full range of products, get expert training tips or discover more about Taut-sponsored initiatives, visit www.taut-sport.com.