Mirinda Carfrae riding at Kona
Mirinda Carfrae riding at Kona
Training > Athlete Profiles

Female triathletes: the 10 greatest ever?

We have discussed, debated and, frankly, argued furiously about who should make it onto our top 10 female triathletes of all time list... do you agree with our chosen 10?

10 Mirinda Carfrae

Two-time Ironman World Champion and previous holder of the Hawaii course record, the diminutive Mirinda Carfrae is an iron master. She has finished on the podium at Kona for each of her seven starts, and is undoubtedly one of the strongest runners on this list, knocking on the door of 2:50hrs.

The Aussie athlete, known as Rinny, was born in 1981 and started triathlon when she was 19 making the junior elite team in 2001. She represented Australia at the ITU Triathlon World Championships from 2001-2005, earning silver medals in 2002 and 2003, before turning her attention to long-distance racing.

Early indicators were that this was the distance for her, but it was when she took the world title at the Ironman 70.3 World Championship (2007) that her talent was realised. Since then she has been one to beat, coming second at Kona 2009, and winning the world champs in 2010, 2013 and 2014. In 2013 she posted the third fastest marathon overall (2:50:38) and a new run record en route to scoring the women’s Kona course record in 8:52:14. This stood until 2016 when Daniela Ryf won in 8:46hr, breaking Carfrae's Kona course record by over 5mins and nudging Carfare into silver.

220 named Carfrae as 7th greatest Kona athlete of all time

220 Staff Writer Jack Sexty says: "Carfrae is one of the few athletes to have almost totally bypassed short-course racing and move to longer distances early in her career, a bold move that paid of and then some. Her overall course record of 8:52:14 and marathon split of 2:50:38 set at the 2013 Ironman World Champs make three-time Kona winner Rinny a deserving addition to the list."

Mirinda Carfrae greatest victories

2014 Ironman World Champion

2013 Ironman World Champion and course record (with marathon record).

2009, 2011, 2016 Ironman World Championships runner up

2010 Ironman World Champion

2007 Ironman 70.3 World Champion

Continue reading our guide to the 10 top female triathletes of all time  (2/10)


Daily deals from top retailers

We'd love you to add a comment! Please login or take half a minute to register as a free member


She DNF'd in 2015 so the second sentence is incorrect.


What about Fernanda Keller (Miss Consistency) ?

Back to the top